Andrew is Professor of Materials Chemistry at the University of Oxford. His research group is based in Oxford’s Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory.

An undergraduate at the University of Sydney, Andrew read Chemistry and Pure Mathematics for his first degree. He subsequently obtained PhDs in Inorganic Chemistry (with Cameron Kepert, Sydney) and in Mineral Physics (with Martin Dove, then at Cambridge).

Whilst a graduate student at Cambridge, Andrew was elected to a Junior Research Fellowship in Materials Science at Trinity College. He was awarded an EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship in 2008, and was appointed to the Chemistry Faculty at Oxford in the following year. He was promoted to full Professor in 2014, and to a University Research Professorship in 2018.

Andrew is the recipient of a number of awards and distinctions including the New York Academy of Sciences ‘Future Leader’ Award (2013), and the Corday-Morgan (2017), Marlow (2013), and Harrison-Meldola (2010) Medals of the Royal Society of Chemistry. In 2018 he was named the inaugural UK Blavatnik Laureate in Chemistry.

One response to “PROF ANDREW GOODWIN

  1. Pingback: Science tourism | Hamish Yeung·

Comments are closed.